book lovers · books · musings · readers

a thousand lives

As I was scrolling through the internet the other day, I came across this quote:

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies.  Someone who never reads lives only one.”  -George R. R. Martin

When you’re an avid reader, you put yourself in someone else’s life every single time you pick up a book.  You may be an assassin, a wizard, a Shadowhunter, an everyday average teenager when you’re reading.  You can be anything, live any life.

Each time I pick up a book I get a break from reality.  I love my life, but it’s nice once in a while to join a beloved character from a favorite novel for a few hours.  Maybe work was a little stressful or I’m stuck on one scene in my own novel and I need to press pause.  Reading a novel gives me the break my mind so desperately craves.

Re-reading my favorite novels is like visiting old friends I haven’t seen in a while.  And I usually experience something new each time I re-read a book.  Maybe last time I didn’t understand the antagonist’s motivation for murdering the protagonist’s sister, but this time a little light is shed on him.  Maybe he’s not just a ‘bad guy’, maybe there’s more to his character than I realized.

I’m continually intrigued by a story each time I read it.  There’s always something new to discover when you step inside a character’s life.

If there was one character who’s life you could trade for a day, who would it be?

Leave a Reply

